in

Nevada Becomes First State to Impose Surcharge on Unvaccinated Workers and Their Unvaccinated Family Members

nevada-becomes-first-state-to-impose-surcharge-on-unvaccinated-workers-and-their-unvaccinated-family-members

Nevada became the first state in the union to impose a mandatory fine on unvaccinated workers and their unvaccinated family members.

The rule will affect some 5,000 state employees not vaccinated against COVID-19 starting in July 2022.

Zero Hedge reported:

TRENDING: Liberal Media Pushes Bonkers Conspiracy Theory About Florida Governor Ron DeSantis

Nevada on Thursday became the first U.S. state to impose a surcharge on workers who have not gotten a COVID-19 vaccine, though the penalty doesn’t take effect until the middle of next year.

All but two members of the state’s Public Employees’ Benefit Program Board (PEBP) voted during a meeting to approve a surcharge of $55 a month on unvaccinated workers.

The approved proposal also stipulates a surcharge of $175 a month for workers’ spouses, partners, and dependents 18 and older. That could be adjusted down the road.

The surcharges will go into effect on July 1, 2022.

They’ll help offset the costs of COVID-19 testing, Laura Rich, executive officer of the board, said.

Testing costs through September were estimated at $3.3 million.

The board did not analyze the cost of COVID-19 hospitalizations for the proposal because that would have made the surcharge for spouses and dependents “significantly higher,” Rich said. State rules bar making the surcharge on workers any higher.

What do you think?

Written by Newsman

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
new-york-times-book-review-boosts-bette-midler-reading-black-authors-deeply-on-race

New York Times Book Review Boosts Bette Midler Reading Black Authors Deeply on Race

triple-vaccinated-doctor-gets-omicron-—-then-passes-it-onto-another-person

Triple Vaccinated Doctor Gets Omicron — Then Passes It Onto Another Person